Daily Archives: August 22, 2008

Reconnecting with Original Reason for Starting the World of Naperville

I’ve been in San Diego for the past week attending the American Society of Association Executive’s 2008 Annual Meeting.  During this time, I truly felt far away from my cherished hometown of Naperville.  Given the amount of dialogue in my industry regarding the “social web”, I couldn’t help but reflect upon my own reasons for starting this blog. 

My original intent for creating the World of Naperville was to not only engage in virtual community activism but also to share the best of Naperville with the world.  Over the past couple of years, this blog has grown and grown to nearly 37,000 visits as of this date.  The focus of my postings has expanded to cover a multitude of topics and I’ve been able to connect with some wonderful people.  Over the past couple of months, I’ve also begun contributing to www.examiner.com as the Naperville Examiner to give the rest of the world a more in-depth look at our community. 

At the same time, I’m beginning to feel as though I’m a bit all over the place which may be impacting my original goal.  I’ve always intended for this blog to be both meaningful and interactive with others offering comments and guest postings.  Naperville is full of substance and it is that which I wish to focus my energy.

In the coming days, weeks and months I will begin to re-focus on my original goal of not only playing a role in community activism but to also promote community involvement.  As residents, we all have unique talents and passions to share with the world.  Even more, I challenge each of you to consider what may be standing in the way of living your own life of purpose, whether that takes the form of a career or a lifestyle.

Naperville is full of successful people; however, I challenge each of you to internalize the question of whether or not your own success is in alignment with your true life purpose and concept of personal success.  Life is so much more than what we have… it’s ultimately what we are able to give back which determines true success, happiness and fulfillment.