Trading the World of Naperville for the World of Disney

Dear Naperville,

I carry with me a burden of guilt upon my shoulders that needs to be released.  You know that I care deeply about you and that I’m fully committed to building a bright and prosperous future with you.  With that said, there is something my family and I need to confess and I hope you can find it in your heart to respond with forgiveness rather than jealousy.  I’m not sure exactly how to say this, so I’ll come right out and say that we have been unfaithful this fall.  There has been another “World” in our life, but it’s just a brief fling… nowhere near as much fun as the Last Fling. 

In the spirit of full disclosure, I will say that we’ve spent quite a bit of time at a non-Naperville food-oriented festival.  Yes, it’s true, we’ve eaten ribs somewhere other than Gemato’s or Ribfest, but please trust me when I say, they were nowhere near as good.  There have been many strolls along a different kind of “walk”… a Boardwalk.  We’ve spent quite a bit of time on Main Street, but this one has a big castle sitting in the middle of the street. 

.  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

Over the past month, we’ve spent more time living in the World of Disney rather than the world of Naperville.  My wife is managing a client project at EPCOT which has required her to be there for the full run of the EPCOT International Food and Wine Festival, which translates into seven weeks.  To keep the family togther, I returned last Sunday from a two week visit and the boys just returned from a full three weeks at Walt Disney World. 

Given this up-close and personal Disney experience, I must conclude that our Naperville is a place Walt Disney himself would have appreciated.  For anyone who has read the Walt Disney’s biographies or has followed the story behind Disneyland and Walt Disney World’s history know that Walt envisioned an idyllic reflection of midwestern life as is evidenced on Main Street in the Magic Kingdom.  Disney’s vision for Walt Disney World also included an in-depth exploration of what the community of the future might look like. 

Though I’ve visited Walt Disney World many times over my lifetime, this particular extended visit allowed me to take a much closer look in pondering this great vision of Americana.  My conclusion fills me with even greater enthsusiasm for Naperville in the fact that while Walt Disney World tells these stories through technology and exceptional facades, our community brings it all to life… past, present and future.  Though I love the Walt Disney World experience, it’s good to be back home. 

Leave a Reply

